Picture
Have you ever felt like you were being watched ? In the book “Pretty Little Liars” , It’s not the most pleasant feeling for four Rosewood  girls Aria, Emily, Hanna, and Spencer. Ever Since the girls’ best friend, Alison DiLaurentis, had disappeared three years ago, the girls had drifted apart.

“As Aria walked into her english class she spots Hanna in her seat, Aria then thinks, Whoah, people can change” (63) . This quotation from the book tells us that they haven’t talked to each other in a while. But when the girls start getting mysterious text messages and emails from the unknown “A”, they reunite and suspicion rises when “A” mentions things that only Alison and the girls would know.“Alison knew more about the girls than anyone ever did, including the bad stuff they wanted to bury- just like a body.” (Pg. 18 )This quotation from the book states that Alison had known a lot of things about the girls. So if Alison ever wanted to blackmail Aria, Emily, Hanna, and  Spencer for whatever reason,  she had enough dirt to bury them alive.  The Series “Pretty Little Liars” by Sara Shepard is about four girls coming together to keep their secrets safe and unknown from the world and doing whatever it takes, even if it means lying.  I truly adore this book because of the suspense and drama, and it’s one of my favorite books now because Sara Shepard is a fabulous author and I give her a big thumbs up for how she wrote “Pretty Little Liars”.The main characters of the novel all really were well thought out, and they all had their own dark little secret. All of  the characters sounded like they were just typical rich kids who lived in the small and wealthy town of Rosewood, PEN. But what made each individual character interesting was that they all had different secrets that would eventually come back to bite them in the butt.  
The Plot was very suspenseful and believable and I thought Sara Shepard did a good job placing all the elements together to make a very interesting book. When “A” was talking on this page, they said;“I  bet you thought I was Alison, didn’t you? Well sorry, I’m not.” (pg. 289)As you read further into the series, you get suspicious, don’t you? These quotations note that “A” is not Alison, even though their names start with the same letter.  Saying this, it makes you want to read further and find out who “A” is. This is why I got so hooked on this book. The suspense kept  leading me on to each page hoping to find out who “A” was. But you will just have to keep on reading the series to find out.
The theme of the story is that you shouldn’t tell anyone, not even your best friend, your deepest and darkest secrets. Because you never know where or when they might turn on you. To me, they really need to think about who they tell their secrets too. It was a mistake to tell secrets all the time and lie.  I can relate to the theme in some ways, but this story actually really made me think about what I say or do, or who I tell secrets to,because I will never know who will hear what I say. Never trust anyone. I think that Sara Shepard did a good job hinting the theme throughout the novel.
I really loved this book overall.  If you like reading about reading about teen dramas, suspense, and romance, “Pretty Little Liars” is just for you. “Pretty Little Liars” is now a hit T.V series on ABC Family, and I am seriously considering watching the series because I thought the book was so interesting. I’m not saying that you should go out and buy the book right away, but it’s a book that I would put on my “Favorites” list. If you think my review persuaded you enough,  I hope you enjoy the book :)



Leave a Reply.