Picture
 The story "The Hunger Games" is like a delicious, cold smoothie. It has its moments of sweetness and love, but it also has harsh, cold moments, like when you get a brain freeze. The  Hunger Games is about a sixteen year old girl named Katniss, who has to compete in the annual Hunger Games, a competition to the death that is aired on television. It includes a boy named Peeta who is in love with Katniss and tries as much as he can to protect her in the arena. I love “The Hunger Games”, because of all  the suspense ,and the fact that there was a love story made me want to keep reading and I wasn't able to put it down!

The plot of “The Hunger Games” was well thought out ,and enthralling to read!  The book describes how  they live in a futuristic world, that once was the country of North America. The twelve districts are poor and are kept under control by the selfish and rich Capitol. There is also a love triangle in the book. Peeta is in love with Katniss and she slowly starts to fall for him, but her best friend, Gale, is also in love with Katniss, but she doesn’t know which one to choose ,because she loves both of them. whenever I think about the bond between Katniss and Prim I think of this quote that Katniss told Prim before she left, “I remembered how I promised Prim that I really would try to win”(Pg.77).  I love all of the characters and I think that all of the characters helped the plot and encouraged Katniss to win the games!
         Katniss Everdeen is daring, bold, brave, and impetuous! She makes“The Hunger Games”  a magnificent book! Suzanne Collins could’ve done a better job describing the characters’ emotions and actions, by giving more detail to each character, but all in all it was a fantastic book. Katniss’s younger sister acts a little younger than her actual age, but I can understand why she would act that way, because Prim is a kind girl who almost everyone loves, but she is scared and worried for Katniss. Peeta’s character is so in love with Katniss and he would do anything to protect her, even fight Cato ( one of the strongest and heartless people in the arena ).Katniss ,on the other hand, is just trying to stay alive, protect herself, and play the role of a lovestruck teenager. I am very fond of all the characters and I think that all of the characters helped the plot and encouraged Katniss to win the games. Some ways that the characters advanced the plot , are when they begin the games , and separate into teams leaving Katniss to be on her own, she was confused because Peeta was with them, but he still saved her from Cato. I have much affection for all of the characters and I think that all of the them helped the plot become thrilling, and compound!
          The theme of this book is that, sometimes you have to sacrifice everything in order to save the people you care most about. An example is when Katniss thought that surviving the games was the most important thing, but it was more than that, it was about sacrifice, bravery, and devotion. I enjoyed this theme, because I know that some people have been in a situation 



Leave a Reply.